Everton FC Returns to Dr Pepper Dallas Cup

Elite youth soccer clubs from around the globe have been competing in the Dr Pepper Dallas Cup since its inception in 1980. These clubs continually bring players that go on to reach the highest levels of professional soccer. Over 430 FIFA World Cup games have been played by former tournament participants, and in this summer’s World Cup in Brazil, one out of 19 players had competed in the Dallas Cup as young men. Steve Davis recently profiled some of these 39 Dallas Cup alumni, which can be read at DallasCup.com/Alumni.

Returning for a third time to the Dr Pepper Dallas Cup will be Everton, one of the premier developmental academies in England, and current Barclay’s U18 Premier League Champion. Two of their esteemed graduates, 2014 FIFA World Cup players Wayne Rooney and Ross Barkley, appeared with Everton in the 1999 and 2012 Dallas Cup tournaments, respectively.

The Toffees' upcoming trip to Dallas continues the long-standing relationship between the world-renowned tournament and the English Premier League. Arsenal, Manchester United, Liverpool and Manchester City are among the Premier League teams that have competed in past Dallas Cups. Fulham was the last English side to claim the Gordon Jago Super Group, hoisting the “Boot and Ball” trophy in 2013.

Dr Pepper Dallas Cup XXXVI will be held Mar. 29-Apr. 5, 2015.
About Everton FC: Founded in 1887, Everton Football Club resides in Liverpool, playing their games at historic Goodison Park. Known to their fans as the Toffees, the club has only been relegated to the second division twice in their 127-year history. It is the current club for U.S. Men’s National Team goalkeeper Tim Howard.

About Dr Pepper Dallas Cup: Dr Pepper Dallas Cup is the most prestigious international youth soccer tournament in the United States. Consisting of age groups from U13 to U19, Dallas Cup averages more than 100,000 spectators during tournament week. Since its inception in 1980, Dallas Cup has hosted teams and referees from across 47 states, six continents and more than 100 countries. Follow Dallas Cup on Twitter, Facebook and on Instagram.

Here is the complete list of Dallas Cup alumni players that were called upon to represent their countries in Brazil for the 2014 FIFA World Cup:

Argentina: Agustin Orion
Australia: Massimo Luongo
Belgium: Adnan Januzaj
Brazil: Maicon
Costa Rica: Joel Campbell
Costa Rica: Diego Calvo
Costa Rica: Waylon Francis
Costa Rica: Keylor Navas
Costa Rica: Celso Borges
Costa Rica: Daniel Cambronero
Croatia: Sammir
England: Ross Barkley
England: Glen Johnson
England: Wayne Rooney
England: Luke Shaw
England: Adam Lallana
Germany: Ron-Robert Zieler
Mexico: Javier Hernandez
Mexico: Rafae  Marquez
Mexico: Jose Corona
Mexico: Andres Guardado
Mexico: Giovani Dos Santos
Mexico: Alfredo Talavera
Mexico: Francisco Rodriguez
Mexico: Marco Fabian
Mexico: Miguel Ponce
Mexico: Alan Pulido
Netherlands: Jonathan de Guzman
USA: Jozy Altidore
USA: DaMarcus Beasley
USA: Kyle Beckerman
USA: Alejandro Bedoya
USA: Michael Bradley
USA: Timmy Chandler
USA: Brad Davis
USA: Clint Dempsey
USA: Omar Gonzalez
USA: Brad Guzan
USA: Nick Rimando

Like Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter