YOU MAKE THE CALL!

Following refer to the "Laws of the Game" for outdoor:

One of the primary duties of the referee is determining the correct restart when the game has been stopped for a specific reason. Some of the eight methods of restarting are obvious, while others may require a little thought.

  1. The defending team has been awarded an Indirect Free Kick (IFK) in their own penalty area due to an opposing player playing in a dangerous manner. Since it is indirect, a defender kicks the ball slightly to his right in the penalty area and the goalkeeper kicks the ball down the field.

    1. Legal. It was an IFK
    2. Stop play and award and IFK to the opposing team at the same spot.
    3. Stop play and have the kicking team retake the IFK.
  2. Throw-Ins are required when the ball has passed completely over the touchline. A throw-in is in play if it is properly delivered, and:

    1. Strikes the ground outside the touchline before entering the field
    2. Breaks the plane of the touchline
    3. Leaves the hands of the thrower
    4. Both b and c are required
  3. A goalkeeper has gained possession of the ball during a furious attack on goal that has resulted in an injury to one of the attacking players. No foul is called, but because he believes the injury may be serious, the referee immediately blows the whistle. Play is restarted by:

    1. Dropped ball at the penalty area line
    2. Dropped ball where the goalkeeper was holding the ball
    3. Allowing the goalkeeper to punt the ball because he had possession
    4. Indirect Free Kick by the team in possession

Following questions pertain to Indoor Soccer:

  1. In a CO-ED game, an ineligible male takes a shot on goal. On the way to the goal, a defender steps in front of the ball and causes it to go into the goal. Is this a legal goal since it went into the goal off of a defending player?

    1. Yes
    2. No
  2. In a men's game, the defending goalie comes out of the penalty area and slide-tackles an opponent, clearing out the ball with the first foot before the other foot slides into the opponent, causing him to trip. Should this be considered a foul?

    1. Yes, any contact with the opponent is illegal, even if the ball was properly played.
    2. No, contact with the ball first makes it a legal play.
  3. An indoor facility has a house rule that does not allow for slide tackles during games. During play, a player goes down and slides, blocking a shot on goal. Is this a foul?

    1. Yes
    2. No

Following are an assessor's outlook:

  1. When a substitution is requested, the fourth official should confirm the substitute by checking that:

    1. He/she is on the official roster.
    2. He/she has an authentic substitution pass
    3. His/her equipment conforms to Law 4
    4. All of the above
  2. While waiting for the referee's acknowledgment, the Fourth Official should:

    1. Stand at halfway line with substitute directly beside him
    2. Stand at halfway line with substitute slightly behind and on bench side
    3. Stand at halfway line with the substitute directly behind him
  3. If both teams are requesting a substitution, the fourth official should:

    1. Place both substitutes directly to his left
    2. Place both substitutes directly to his right
    3. Keep both substitutes on their respective bench sides

CLICK HERE FOR ANSWERS!



The Pitch is a publication of North Texas Soccer
1740 S I-35, Suite 105 Carrollton, TX 75006
972-323-1323


The Pitch is produced by Varsity Communications
12510 33rd Ave NE Suite 300 Seattle WA 98125
For Advertising information, please contact David Stolber


FC Dallas Subaru Pizza Hut Dr. Pepper Gatorade Baylor Rehabilitation System